Hello and Welcome to the United States
I am here to help you with anything you might need during your time in beautiful Colorado! I am very excited to work with you and help you experience the best possible year as an
Step 1: Print I -94
Print I-94 cbp.gov/I94 I-94 card (which should be in your passport) (An I-94 is a form denoting the Arrival-Departure Record of particular aliens used by U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP). U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) use Form I-94 ) The I-94 record is required for Au Pairs to apply for a social security card and driver’s license.
Step 2: Social Security Information:
Complete your application with the Social Security Administration (SSA) for a Social Security Number.
What do you need to bring to your Social Security Application Appointment?
- Get Social Security Card
- Letter from Cultural Care stating that you live with your host family (this can be found in your online account)
- Social Security card is mailed to your home, usually arrives within 1-2 weeks (Keep the envelope the social security card comes in)
- DS-2019 form (This form or “certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status” is the primary document used in the administration of the exchange visitor program.)
8000 Southpark Lane, Littleton, CO 80120
Open Monday through Friday, 9 am-3: 30 pm
*Located between Broadway and Santa Fe, South on Mineral Avenue
Step 3: Bank Account and Stipend Payments:
One of the first things you will need to do after arriving is to set up your bank account. All banks are different from what is required to set up an account. Please check with your host family’s bank to see what is needed. Please use your Program Participation Letter from your online account.
- Au Pairs should expect to receive your FULL stipend each and every week of your program year on the same payday each week, i.e., Friday or Monday.
- Your stipend payment is $195.75 each week and funds cannot be withheld from this amount FOR ANY REASON. You will receive 51 stipend payments during your program year. **The stipend cannot be pro-rated. If you work 1 hour or 1 day in your work week, you must still receive the full stipend for the work week.
**Au Pairs and Host Families: It is STRONGLY encouraged and in your best interest that all stipend payments are tracked, so there are no questions about when/how payments are made.
Step 4: Driver’s License – Required by Colorado**** Once an au pair arrives at their host family home and begins working they have 30 days to obtain a Colorado driver’s license.
**MUST SCHEDULE THE DRIVING TEST – THE SCHEDULE IS 6-8 WEEKS OUT** IT IS RECOMMENDED TO SCHEDULE THE WRITTEN TEST TOO**
Location Available where the written (permit test) and driving test are both available.
- The Lakewood DMV office is confusing. They changed locations. The correct address is 3265 South Wadsworth Blvd. Lakewood, CO. 80227 (303) 205-5600 (M – F / 8-5 )You can walk in to take the written driving exam, no appointment needed.
- You must schedule the driving exam. Schedule at this link https://coloradodor.hosted.acftechnologies.com/WAColorado/ACFCustom/Location.aspx – Schedule at the Denver Westgate location.
You need to study for your written driver’s license test. You can also stop by a driver’s license office and pick up a book. I urge you to study it and get very familiar with Colorado’s driving laws. It is a requirement of Colorado for you to take a written and driving test to obtain your license within 30 days of your arrival. (NOTE: Before you get your driver’s license, you MUST get a social security card.)
Download this APP to your phone – DMV Genius: Car, Motorcycle & CD… Elegant eLearning APP
When you go in to take the written test, you will need the following documents:
- Social Security Card
- International driver’s license
- DS-2019 Form
- Two pieces of mail listing your host family’s address
- Examples listed below are acceptable to show proof of address
- Save the social security card envelope when you receive it by mail
- Print your program participation letter from your online account
- Bank statement
- Have a typed stipend receipt from your host parent with your name, address, and date of payment
- Examples listed below are acceptable to show proof of address
- Written Test –You will take a quick eye exam and a written multiple-choice exam. Once you pass, they will ask for $16.80. (cash or check made payable to DOR, i.e., no credit cards) They will take your picture and issue you a permit.
- Driving Test –A car to use for the driving test, that car’s registration, car insurance papers, 2 types of proof of address, $28 in cash, permit that you got from the Driver’s Motor Vehicle department after passing the eye and written test.
German & French Au Pairs: Take your license and IDP to the Driver’s License Office, pay the fee of $28.00 to receive your Colorado license. You do not need to take any of the state tests. You should not hand over your home country driver’s license to the DMV. Keep it!
Cultural Care Au Pair strongly urges all au pairs to obtain a state license, as it is the only way to make sure that their ability to drive legally in the state is not called into question.
Most au pairs arrive in the U.S. with a valid home country license and an international driver’s permit (also known as an IDP).
The benefit of an IDP: – International Driving Permit provides a translation into multiple languages so that foreign countries’ police and other authorities can easily read your license in their own language.
The IDP has no official status and does not confer any legal privileges. Only a government issued driver’s license grants driving privileges.
Extension or Transition Au Pair Coming to Colorado with a current out of state Drivers License
Obtain a Colorado driver’s license
- Required by The state of Colorado. Au Pair must obtain their license within 30 days of arrival to Colorado.
Take your current expired or unexpired NJ driver’s license, (it can be expired for up to 1-year) to the DMV, and you will not need to take the written or driving Colorado exam to get a Colorado Driver’s License. You will pay $28 to get a Colorado Driver’s license. You will need two documents showing proof that you live in Colorado.
Be familiar with Colorado driving rules.
Colorado Handbook https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/DR2337.pdf
( 3.1: New a resident with a valid license If you are 16 years of age or older and have a valid license in your possession which was issued by another U.S. state, territory or certain other countries, you will normally not be required to take the written test or the driving test. The driver’s license employee has a responsibility to require a driving test, even if you turn in a valid license if there is a problem with your physical aptitude analysis or vision screening. You must surrender your valid out-of-state driver license (C.R.S. 24-60-1106) and present identification showing proof of lawful presence in the U.S. along with your surrendered out-of-state driver license. Lawful presence is not required for individuals applying under the CORCSA (C.R.S. 42-2-501) who are unable to demonstrate lawful presence.)
Most schools start classes in August and January, but there are some classes you can start taking right away. Take a look at the link on the side of this web page under education. You will find a list of some of the more popular choice schools in the Denver Metro area. There are other choices, but keep in mind when selecting a school that must be accredited. If you are uncertain, please call me.
Step 5: Education Classes
Step 6: Au Pair monthly meetings are mandatory
These meetings are MANDATORY, and every effort MUST be made to attend. I try to plan the meetings, at least several months in advance, so that you and your host family can plan accordingly. These meetings are for you to have fun, meet other au pairs and bring up any problems or concerns that you may have. I will try to keep the cost low for our meetings, but if we go to an event or restaurant, you are responsible for your expenses. Again, these meetings are for YOU, and I encourage you to let me know what you want me to schedule. Our meeting dates vary depending on the event.
Step 5: TAXES
Tax Information for Au Pairs
Every Au Pair has to file taxes between January and April every year.
I suggest you put away $15 every week for your taxes so that when you do have to file you are prepared to pay. A great way to save for this is to open a savings account along with your checking account and deposit the $15 out of your weekly stipend into the savings account. You will earn a small interest on the money in the account and in most cases, you will have enough or more money then you will need for taxes.
Step 6: Last but not least
Go out, make friends and have fun.
Please reach out to me with any questions or concerns, and I am always happy to help!
Email: [email protected]
Facebook.com/JenniferMorrowLCC – Please “Like” and “Follow” my Page to stay current on au pair events, program information, children activities, current events, local events, program information.
Register to host an au pair: www.culturalcare.com/jmorrow PROMO CODE – pcregwaiver
As a host family, please refer anyone you know directly to me, or to my website, www.culturalcare.com/jmorrow. As a host family, you will receive unlimited host family referrals and I will make sure you are credited accordingly. I will also help those you know to get set up and properly prepared to host an au pair.
Please share this wonderful option for childcare.
Monday, 14 November 2016 7:48 PM